?

Log in

inspired by practical considerations

Rating position

Name:
Gay But Not Narrow
Schools:

Last updated: 3 March 2013 (though not all of this was necessarily up-to-date even then).

My full name is Ran (pronounced "ron") Ari-Gur. I am a twenty-eight-year-old Sephardi (Bukhari; but half-Ashkenazi), gay, Zionist, Israeli-American Jew. I was born in Haifa, Israel, but grew up in Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA, and — after about a decade living in Cleveland, Ohio, USA — currently live in Redmond, Washington, USA. (I moved here in January 2013.)

My e-mail address is <ran [FULL STOP] arigur [COMMERCIAL AT] gmail [FULL STOP] com>.

I have two older sisters: bayfm (Bati), who also lives in Redmond, with her husband Mati, daughter Zelly (born June 2011), and son Zuri (Tsurik, born March 2013); and ']n (more properly חני, pronounced "Khani"), who lives in Jerusalem, Israel with her husband REL (Ariel, אריאל), daughters Ayelet (איילת, born June 2001), Rina (רינה, born January 2003), and Batya (בתיה, born July 2006), and son Eliyahu (אליהו, born April 2010). ']n is an ultra-Orthodox Jew.

I am a software developer (at a company you've heard of, but all views expressed here are my own, and should not be viewed as Official Word Of Company-You've-Heard-Of), and I also spend a lot of my free time programming (or at least I did, back when I used to have free time!). I think my favorite languages are Perl (for doing things quickly) and Standard ML (for beauty), but I use a lot of different languages on a daily basis.

Even aside from the programming, I'm a geek in some respects — but then, not a geek in others. I like science fiction, but not role-playing; I like programming, but not video games. I took up knitting a few years ago, and enjoy it immensely; that's not usually considered a geeky thing, but I think it fits well with geekiness.

I like to read, both fiction and non-fiction. At any given time, I'm usually in the middle of two or three books.

I am an alumnus of Case Western Reserve University, of Alpha Epsilon Pi, the Jewish fraternity, and of Alpha Phi Omega, a co-ed community service fraternity.

I love languages. I only speak English, Hebrew, and French (and semi-passable Spanish), but I'd like to learn more. (But it may be a lost cause: I tried to learn some Russian a few years back, and woah did that not go anywhere.) I'm also very interested in language (as distinct from languages) and in linguistics (the science of language).

"Ruakh" (רוח) is the Hebrew word for "wind"; it's also used to refer to a part of the human soul, and in that sense is generally translated as "spirit."

Rating position

Statistics